QPR Report Twitter Feed

Saturday, February 27, 2010

QPR Report Snippets...Taarabt's Goal Shortlisted for Year's Best Goal (The Complete Shortlist)

- QPR REPORT Available on TWITTER!

- The growing QPR Report Messageboard: For comprehensive and latest QPR news-related pieces and discussion, visit the football-only, somewhat-different QPR Report Messageboard. All QPR Perspectives genuinely welcomed! Or comment on any of the articles posted below

- Warnock's Saturday Independent Column (Nothing concrete/new) "...I will be at the Keepmoat Stadium, despite what you may have read in some places, but what the future holds I really don't know. The honest truth is there's a lot going on behind the scenes and I don't know what will happen..."

- Middlesbrough Previews and Flashbacks

- The three part QPR Interview of Amit Bhatia

- Possible Additional Questions to Ask Amit Bhatia [If any additional suggestions: Feel free to either post them on the QPR Report board or email them to QPR Report

- Year Flashback: Views of Bhatia, Sousa and Kevin Gallen...And New Season Ticket Offer

- Flashback Article: "Why India is Football's New Frontier"

- The State of Football Finances: Analyses and Debts of Each Premier Club

- Dennis Tueart Goal Voted Best League Cup Moment

- Portsmouth in Administration: Day Two Stories

- Flashback Nine Years: How Bad Things Were at QPR

- Two Year Flashback: Briatore on his Love for Loftus Road

- The Rise and Fall of Paul Ince

- The Press, Libel and Privacy

- "On This Day" in Football

- Warnock's Managerial Record/Stats

- Adel Taarabt's stunning solo goal against Preston North End in October has been further shortlisted for the Mitre Goal of the Year.
- After initially been nominated as one of 20 great goals in the Football League, the Moroccan's strike has now been selected as one of the top five efforts.
- The overall winner will be announced on the night at the 2010 Football League Awards which take place at the prestigious Grosvenor House on Park Lane on Sunday 14th March 2010. QPR


And the other goals in contention

- Soccer AM this morning revealed the top five goals that have made it through to the shortlist for the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the 2010 Football League Awards.
- West Bromwich Albion's former Swindon Town striker Simon Cox is the first to make the list following his cracker against Walsall back in January last year. He is joined by Gillingham's Curtis Weston for his fantastic goal against Shrewsbury later that season, while Millwall's Gary Alexander is also in contention following his wonder strike in the Coca-Cola League 1 Play-Off Final at Wembley in May.
- Queens Park Rangers' on-loan Adel Taarabt netted a beauty earlier this season against Preston North End and becomes the fourth player on the list, while Nicky Maynard's amazing control and volley for Bristol City against the R's in December completes the list of contenders.
- Each of the 72 Football League clubs were asked to submit their top goal of 2009 and in conjunction with the viewers and presenters at Soccer AM these were then whittled down to the best five strikes of the year. These will now go forward to the Awards night on Sunday 14th March when the attendees will decide on the overall winner.
- The full details of the shortlist are:
- Simon Cox (SWINDON TOWN) - v. Walsall, 27th January 2009
Curtis Weston (GILLINGHAM) - v. Shrewsbury Town, 14th March 2009
Gary Alexander (MILLWALL) - v. Sc*n*horpe United, 24th May 2009
Adel Taarabt - QUEENS PARK RANGERS) - v. Preston North End, 17th October 2009
Nicky Maynard (BRISTOL CITY) - v. Queens Park Rangers, 26th December 2009
- Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers - 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United - 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City - 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County - 2006).
- To find out more about The Football League Awards or to book a table to attend the event itself please visit www.footballleagueawards.com. Football League


- Chelsea Search for a New Stadium

- Ten Best League Cup Finals...Including 1967

- Fulham's Fan Base

- Grimsby vs Mike Newell

- The Prime Minister and MPs Praise the Carling Cup!
- Gianni Di Marzio Apparently Still Involved With QPR
- Lee Camp Very Highly Ranked
- Three Year Flashback: Three New QPR Directors: Nico De Marco, Kevin Steele and Jason Kallis
- Awaiting The Latest Report on Football Agents Fees

Blog Archive