QPR Report Twitter Feed

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Football League Nominations: QPR Get Shut Out

- Interested in a messageboard which focuses only on football? For a combination of cutting-edge QPR and general-interest football articles; and posters opinions: Visit the deliberately-different QPR Report Messageboard! (Brief registration required to Post)

- QPR Fanzine Nominations (Fan Voting begins Friday)

[Note: There is a reasonable chance that QPR players will be included in the "Top 50 Football League Players"]

Football League Awards Thurs 12 Feb 2009 - SHORTLISTS ANNOUNCED

The Football League has announced the full shortlists for seven award categories in the 2009 Football League Awards incorporating FourFourTwo's Top 50 Football League Players.

A total of 240 entries were received from clubs across all three divisions, a 22% increase on entries from the previous year. This year 32 clubs have been shortlisted for Awards, with eight clubs earning more than one entry in the shortlists.

The winners will be announced at the fourth annual Football League Awards which will take place at Grosvenor House on Park Lane on Sunday 29th March 2009.

Expert judging panels were assembled for each category with the process of evaluating each entry taking place at The Football League headquarters on 28th and 29th January.

The shortlists for the seven award categories are:

Family Club of the Year - Championship
Norwich City
Plymouth Argyle
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Family Club of the Year - League 1
Milton Keynes Dons
Southend United
Swindon Town
Yeovil Town

Family Club of the Year - League 2
AFC Bournemouth
Shrewsbury Town
Wycombe Wanderers

Perform Best Fan Marketing Campaign
Derby County with "Fans First Initiative"
Huddersfield Town with "The £100 Season Ticket and the Centenary"
Nottingham Forest with "The Forest Super Sevens"
Preston North End with "Lilywhites Go Green"
Wycombe Wanderers with "Season Ticket Holders "Buddy" Scheme"

Sky Digital Media Best Digital Communication
Cardiff City with "Digital Media Platform - Enjoy the Match"
Milton Keynes Dons with "The Dons Show on the Road"
Preston North End with "Centre Stage"
Reading with "Digital Communication Platform"
Wycombe Wanderers with "Countdown to Kick-Off (C2K)"

Press Association Sport Best Matchday Programme
Burnley with "Claret and You"
Bristol City with "Well Red"
Preston North End with "Matchday Programme"
Leicester City with "City"
Watford with "The Official Matchday Magazine"

Community Club of the Year - Championship
Charlton Athletic
Sheffield United
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Community Club of the Year - League 1
Brighton and Hove Albion
Colchester United
Leyton Orient
Oldham Athletic
Southend United

Community Club of the Year - League 2
Bradford City
Rotherham United
Wycombe Wanderers

PFA Player in the Community
Darren Moore, Barnsley
Graeme Murty, Reading
Julian Bennett, Nottingham Forest

Championship Manager Young Apprentice of the Year - Championship
Sean Scannell, Crystal Palace
Oscar Gobern, Southampton
Ross Jenkins, Watford

Championship Manager Young Apprentice of the Year - League 1
Tom Aldred, Carlisle United
Daniel Powell, Milton Keynes Dons
Stuart O'Keefe, Southend United

Championship Manager Young Apprentice of the Year - League 2
Robin Nicholls, Brentford
George Bowyer, Rochdale
Matthew Phillips, Wycombe Wanderers

The Football League Awards will, once again, recognise footballing excellence on and off the field, with clubs and players honoured alongside fans. There will be 20 award categories in total, including a range of football awards and industry-specific honours. Football League


- 2008 Football League Awards

- 2007 Football League Awards

Blog Archive