QPR Report Twitter Feed

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Commemorating QPR's Last Title

Marking a Quarter of a Century since QPR last won a championship Title: May 14, 1983 when Terry Venables (and Allan Harris') Queens Park Rangers concluded their season with a 1-1 draw at Grimsby to win the then Division Two (now The Championship) title by 10 points. (A season which had begun with a 0-1 loss at Newcastle who had just signed Kevin Keegan).

Video: One of the Highlights: Video from March 5, 1983: QPR 6 Middlesbrough 1 including Clive Allen's Hattrick Video of QPR's Six Goals
Hucker Neil Wicks Fenwick Dawes Flanagan Waddock Gregory Mickelwhite Allen Stainrod

Promoted Teams:
Queens Park Rangers 42 26 7 9 77 36 85
Wolverhampton W. 42 20 15 7 68 44 75
Leicester City 42 20 10 12 72 44 70

A QPR team with Fenwick and Wicks...Gregory and Waddock...Allen and Stainrod (The normal QPR Team: Hucker - Neil Wicks (or Hazell) Fenwick (Roeder) Dawes - Waddock Gregory Flanagan Micklewhite - Stainrod Sealy (or Clive Allen) - Tony Currie mostly injured.)

But most of all, a QPR under the brilliant Terry Venables. (And of course, a QPR playing on the "Controversial artificial/plastic pitch!"). Coming on the footsteps of their two FA Cup Final matches against Spurs, and with a great season in Division to come, QPR's future under Terry Venables looked bright.

QPR's Leading goalscorers that season: Tony Sealy 16, John Gregory 15 Simon Stainrod 9 and Clive Allen 13 (From 26 appearances)

{The only thing that ruined the season: Chelsea JUST failed to get relegated to Division Three that season!)

See QPR's Season: Results and Final Table

- 1982/1983 Table

- 1982/1983 Results

- The famed Guiness Shirt

Blog Archive