QPR Report Twitter Feed

Monday, May 28, 2007

QPR's Nick Ward in Australia Olympics Qualifying Squad

Baan picks full-strength Olyroos squad

May 28, 2007 -

Olyroos coach Rob Baan has selected a strong Australian under 23s squad for their crucial final Group D Olympic qualifying match against Jordan in Amman next Wednesday.

Baan has included five overseas-based players in the squad and also welcomes back suspended duo Adrian Leijer and Ruben Zadkovich for the match.

Striker David Williams of Danish club Brondby has been included after missing recent matches due to club commitments and is joined by midfielder Neil Kilkenny (Birmingham City), Nick Ward (Queens Park Rangers), Trent McClenahan (Hereford United) and Aaron Downes (Chesterfield).

The Olyroos will be missing A-League stars Mark Bridge and Nikolai Topor-Stanley through suspension, while Newcastle Jets midfielder Stuart Musialik is still out with a hip injury.

The Olyroos require one point from the match to ensure progression to the third and final stage of qualifying which commences in August.

Australia are three points ahead of Iran, who host Saudi Arabia, with the two matches being played simultaneously.

The Saudis have already qualified while Jordan are out of contention.

Olyroos squad: Leigh Broxham (Melbourne Victory), Nathan Burns (Adelaide United), Adam Casey (Sydney FC), Adam D'Apuzzo (Newcastle Jets), Bruce Djite (Adelaide United), Aaron Downes (Chesterfield, England), Troy Hearfield (Newcastle Jets), Neil Kilkenny (Birmingham City, England), Adrian Leijer (Melbourne Victory), Trent McClenahan (Hereford United, England), Mark Milligan (Sydney FC), Kristian Sarkies (Adelaide United), Tando Velaphi (Perth Glory), Dario Vidosic (Queensland Roar), Danny Vukovic (Central Coast Mariners), Nick Ward (QPR, England), David Williams (Brondby, Denmark), Ruben Zadkovich (Sydney FC).


Blog Archive